HiDrive device backup under Windows
Back up all the data on your Windows PC directly to HiDrive. Should your PC become inoperable in the future, you can still access all backed up data.
The device backup function is only available in the Pro tariff.
In this article we describe how to create a backup and how data recovery works.
First open the “Backup” area in HiDrive. To get there, click on “Settings” in the taskbar. Then click “Device backup”. Here you will find an overview of the available backups or you can initiate a backup directly from here.
Set up a backup
If you have not created a backup before, first define the scope and interval by clicking on “Set up device backup”.
In the Backup Plan section, you can specify the backup intervals. The default setting is manual backup. Alternatively, you can specify that a daily automatic backup is to be performed. If the computer cannot be reached at the time entered, the backup is performed at the next possible time.
Optionally, enter a name for the backup. The computer name is entered by default. If several devices are backed up, this can make it easier to keep track of the available backups.
In the next step, you specify which directories you want to back up. Here you select the drives and/or directories to be backed up from the directory tree of your local environment. It is not possible to back up individual files.
Note: There can only be one backup state per DeviceID, i.e. per unique device and per Windows user. Backup revisions are not possible. However, you have the option of backing up several desktop computers with one HiDrive account.
Remove deleted files from backup
If the option “Remove deleted files from backup” is enabled, locally deleted files will also be deleted from the existing backup during the next backup operation. The option is not activated by default. This means that, by default, all locally deleted files remain in the backup and are available for later recovery.
If you are sure that locally deleted files are no longer needed, you can reduce the amount of storage space on your HiDrive by activating this option.
During a running backup, the current progress of the backup process is displayed. This allows you to estimate the remaining duration. The backup starts with the smallest files, the largest files are backed up at the end.
When performing a device backup, the current progress of the backup process is displayed in the “Backup status” section. This includes
- Number of files (processed + total)
- File size (processed + total size)
The preparation of the backup may take some time, depending on the amount of data selected.
Please note: When performing a HiDrive device backup on your Windows desktop, hidden folders and system files are also backed up.
If you have already backed up files and have not changed them locally, they will be skipped during the next backup process. On the other hand, changed files are overwritten during the subsequent backup. The local folder structure is mapped to HiDrive.
You have the option of canceling a running backup operation. A button for canceling is displayed in the progress display area.
Data that has already been uploaded is retained and an incomplete backup is created. If you perform another backup later, the delta is checked and completed.
Saved backup versions can be restored for each device family. This means that a Windows backup can only be performed on a Windows device, not on an Android device.
Your created backups will appear as a list on the settings page under “Existing backups”. For each backup performed, you will receive additional information, such as: last backup performed, name, total backup size.
The directory tree under “Change backup settings” shows you all backed up folders. By default, no folder is preselected. As long as this is the case, the Restore button is disabled.
As a user, you have the option of selecting individual folders. If you deselect a previously selected folder, this will also happen for all subfolders. The display of the memory size adjusts automatically, depending on the folder selection.
With the recovery, the backed up data is downloaded to a local directory. You can change the default path. Simply click on the “Select” button. A dialog will then open in which you can make the changes.
Click on “Restore” to start the restoration process.
To speed up the recovery process and reduce unnecessary traffic, only the new and changed data is downloaded from the backup. Only selected folders will be restored.
The recovery process takes place in the background.
If files exactly match the files in the backup, they will not be downloaded again. However, if a file already exists on the device but is different, it will be overwritten from the backup.
In the recovery process, files that have just been downloaded are given a temporary name and are renamed after completion.
During backup restore, the “Create backup now” button will be grayed out.
Notes on the recovery process:
The current progress of the restore process is displayed in the settings. This will give you an estimate of the remaining time.
If there is not enough disk space, you will receive a message. In addition, a message is displayed in the menu: “Restore could not be performed”.
Canceling the recovery
As a user, you have the option of canceling started backups. To do this, click on the corresponding button on the progress page and the process is stopped. Data that has already been downloaded is retained.
Was this article helpful?
We are sorry!
Thank you for your feedback!
You already rated this article.
Why do you think, this article was not helpful?